It's been awhile since I provided any update, but that doesn't mean that I have been idle.

The major development has been making contact with a line of cousins in the US.  Well, third cousins actually.  Leonid Issajeff married my great grand aunt Auguste Emilie Julianne Heldt.  One of their sons, Theodore Werner Issajeff, emigrated to the US in 1902.  Auguste tried to emigrate in 1905 but she and two of her daughters were rejected for medical reasons and were returned to Europe.  She eventually died in Riga, Latvia in 1913.  Theodore's son, also Theodore Werner, dropped Issajeff as his surname and used Werner instead.  This is the line that I found.  He married Afton Thornton who died 23 Jan 2012.  I had been curious about this line and accidentally stumbled across her obituary in the online edition of Desseret News.  I signed the guestbook at the funeral home asking for family to contact me.  I heard nothing for a year so earlier this month I emailed the funeral home directly, and lo and behold, I received an email from my third cousin Louise Westergard, the daughter of Theodor and Afton.  She had been handed over the role of family historian from her mother.  I was able to provide her with a lot of information about the Issajeff and Heldt families and I look forward to getting updates about the family in the US.



Leave a Reply.