It has been awhile since my last post, but since no one seems to visit here it doesn't really matter.

In May I decided to give Legacy a try as my genealogy database manager.  One of the reasons was that it creates webpages from the data it contains.  I loaded in one of my db's, I think it was the Cranachid, and began to learn my way through the basics.  It worked out well and I liked the webpage output.

Shortly after, FamilySearch opened their access to non-church members.  Legacy interfaces with FamilySearch and I was able to obtain, and provide, more information on this database.

Gradually I opened new databases for the Hornung and Heldt families,  cleaned up the locations, added (and provided) information to FamilySearch.  I also made the FamilyTree which gets updated as you make the links between your database and FamilySearch.

I learned how to make citations and try to have as many pieces of information verified as possible. 

One thing that I like in FTM over Legacy, is the ability to drag-and-drop images.  This ability made it so much easier to add the images of documents to individual events in FTM.  The upside of this is that I have to organize my document images more rationally in appropriate folders and subfolders.  This way I can like them to events in Legacy easier.

Then came an upgrade to Legacy when they were certified to FamilySearch.  Now we just have to wait for Legacy 8, promised to be available this year.



Leave a Reply.